skip navigation

Herbison, Schill and Hammond Earn First 2012 Wins

Herbison, Schill and Hammond Earn First 2012 Wins
New Richmond, WI (8-18-12)

By: Greg Parent

Rain clouds approaching from the north blotted out the blue skies, as the Cedar Lake Speedway hustled to get their program in on Saturday August 18 during the Faster Pastor Night at the track. The NASCAR Pro Stocks and Midwest Modifieds along with the Hornet division were on hand, as the Late Models and Modifieds had the night off. Picking up their first 2012 wins in the three racing divisions were Eric Herbison, Jason Schill and Barret Hammond. The program was completed just in time before the rains came. Topping a field of sixteen pastors from local area churches was the New Life Church from Dresser. The pastors ran two rounds of qualifying heat races and a 12 lap feature to determine the winning church. All pastors received trophies for participating, as everyone was a winner during the 3rd annual promotion.

The weekly division on the 3/8 mile speedway for the feature event was the NASCAR Midwest Modifieds. David Swearingen and Eric Herbison brought the 18 car field to the green for 20 racing laps. Herbison jumped out to an early lead with lightning flashing in the eastern sky. Josh Bazey quickly worked his way into the runner-up spot on lap four and stayed close. The first caution was a red flag when the car driven by Mike Gibson caught on fire at the halfway point of the race. Gibson was okay, but the car usually driven by Jason Haugerud was out of action. After Jim Raboin tagged the turn two wall on the restart bringing out the yellow, the race went nonstop for the final 10 laps. Herbison and Bazey waged a great battle for the top spot with Bazey trying numerous times to get by. In the end, Herbison held off Bazey to earn his first 2012 victory and his second career win at CLS. Following Bazey was David Swearingen, Justin Schill and Vince Corbin in the top five. Rounding out the top ten was A. J. Roschen, Don Swearingen, Douglas Toepper, Charlie Wihren and Elizabeth Toepper. Earlier in the night, Charlie Wihren won his first-ever heat race at CLS.

The field of 20 NASCAR Pro Stocks was pared to 19 starters when Tom Gebauer was unable to make the call for their 20 lap feature. John Olson and Mike Hesselink took the green from the front row, and it was Hesselink hustling into the lead. The race was slowed a total of six times under caution for various incidents. Jason Schill moved from his fifth starting spot to second by lap five driving Frank Fabio's car. Schill would not take the lead until lap 16 though when he got by Hesselink. Lyle Archambeau also moved past Hesselink following the final caution on what turned out to be a two lap dash to the checkers. Rounding out the top five were Mike Weber and Rich Bishop. Jeff Heintz, Cody Campeau, Jeff Beer and Ben Hainke were the only other cars to finish the race, as Brian Weber as the last car to drop out and was credited with a tenth place finish.

After the Faster Pastor feature race, the Hornet division held the final race of the evening. Kris Kaphing and Jerry Hanson paced the nine car field for their 12 lap feature. Kaphing and Hanson led early, but both would not be around at the finish. Eric Schultz saw his chance of winning fade away when he broke on lap 8 while leading. In the end, Barret Hammond picked up his first Hornet feature win over Brent Voeltz, Chris Dyke and Joel Kruse. Schultz finished fifth, although he was out of the race. Kaphing, Hanson, Oliver Swanson and Steven Johnson rounded out the field.

Next week is Season Championship Night at the Cedar Lake Speedway with all four NASCAR weekly divisions in action along with the Hornets. Free corn on the cob will be available for all fans, as the regular racing season concludes. September special events include the Jerry Richert Memorial, the Legendary 100 and the popular enduro race. For more information, please visit our website at www.cedarlakepseedway.com or call 1-866-4-CLS-FUN (866-425-7386).

Cedar Lake Speedway Feature Race Summary August 18, 2012:


Eric Herbison 53, Josh Bazey 55, David Swearingen 5, Justin Schill 11, Vince Corbin 59, A J Roschen 7, Don Swearingen 110, Douglas Toepper 91, Charlie Wihren 7w, Elizabeth Toepper 24T, Al Stettner 38S, Chris Anderson 18, Miranda Carlson 97, Jim Raboin 10x, Jason Schill 11x, Shawn Carlson 95, Mike Gibson 22, Patrick Kelley 63.


Jason Schill 67, Lyle Archambeau 99k, Mike Hesselink 18, Mike Weber 26, Rich Bishop 10, Jeff Heintz 57, Cody Campeau 99c, Jeff Beer 16B, Ben Hainke 25, Brian Weber 82, Denny Schouveller 1, Larry Fitzsimmons 73, John Olson 64, Greg Meidlinger 2x, Scott Zitelman 13, Shawn Kammerud 99, Jim Raboin 10, Mike Raboin 10x, Chris Gorka 96, DNS: Tom Gebauer 9.

HORNETS (12 laps):

Barret Hammond 19, Brent Voeltz 37, Chris Dyke 38, Joel Kruse 20, Eric Schultz 7S, Kris Kaphing 16x, Jerry Hanson 87, Oliver Swanson 10x, Steven Johnson 3.