skip navigation

Prohaska Doubles Up At Micro Meltdown Finale

By Chris Stepan, 03/17/13, 6:00PM CDT


(March 16th 2013 – New Richmond, WI) The 2013 Micro Meltdown wrapped up at the newly re-opened Cedar Lake Arena in New Richmond, Wisconsin seeing Lakefield, Minnesota’s Skylar Prohaska back up his Friday night winged main event win with a double dip in winning both the winged and non winged main events, earning two more weekend trips to Cedar Lake Arena’s victory lane.

            Prohaska and Skylar Sundquist started on the front row of the 25 lap non winged main event with Prohaska jumping into command at the start brining 3rd starting Shane Fick along into second in the early going. An early lap three caution kept the field tight, but Prohaska and Fick quickly took off and made it a two car battle for the lead.

            The race clipped along quickly until a lap twenty caution flag flew, tightening the field again for a five lap shootout.

            Prohaska again quickly took his #18x and drove away from Fick and the rest of the field for the convincing victory. Fick held off Tucker Klaasmeyer for third as the event ended under a caution-checkered for a two car crash in turn two on the final lap.

The 600 Modified main event was up next and after a near disastrous start when pole sitting Brandon Nelson spun in front of the field, the event went non-stop and looked as if Buzz Pool, driving the Nathan Kilwine owned #15 was going to dominate the event, until mechanical troubles took him out of contention with just a handful of laps remaining, leaving the battle that was for second, now for the lead.

Wade Brandt, Ryan Hensel and Jason Christianson were locked in a thrilling three car battle for second until Pool broke and pulled his car to the infield, leaving the battle for the lead. Brandt held the preferred spot out front and with just two laps to go, Hensel broke and pulled off, leaving Brandt with the clear path to victory lane, followed by Christianson on the final lap.

Brian Slusarski and Shane Fick paced the winged feature to the green flag in the 25 lap weekend finale with Slusarski taking command at the start. Skylar Prohaska, looking for a sweep of the day, slid into second from his third starting spot with Fick, Tucker Klaasmeyer and Alec Frisell completing the top five early on. The race went green for the first seven laps until Russell Disinger had problems, forcing him out of the event and bunching the field back up for the restart.

On the restart, Prohaska got the jump on Slusarski and stole the lead, which he would hold throughout the remainder of the event and through 4 more caution periods. Prohaska continued to set a blistering pace out front, while Slusarski had his hands full with Fick, Shane Sundquist and Wade Huisman, as all three drivers were trying to work their way toward the front.

The final caution flew on lap 19, setting up a six lap shootout, which Prohaska was able to withstand, while Slusarski tried to fend off the charging Huisman, who got by Sundquist late in the race, but ran out of time in his quest to overhaul Slusarski for second.

Prohaska picked up his third win of the weekend in four starts with Slusarski coming home in second with Huisman third, Sundquist fourth and Fick rounding out the top five finishers.

For more information on upcoming events at the Cedar Lake Arena and the upcoming dirt track schedule for Cedar Lake Speedway, please check out




Winged Micro Sprints

Feature: Skylar Prohaska, Brian Slusarski, Wade Huisman, Shane Sundquist, Shane Fick, Sara Elrod, Alec Frisell, Tim Neal, Jared Cech, Tony Duran, Ty Sampier, Collin Olson, Ally Berger, Tucker Klaasmeyer, Russell Disinger, Ryan Schurr, Bryce Rabenhorst, Randy Steeley, Kyle Sargent, Chris Cochran, Merlin Schnur

Heat 1: Prohaska, Sundquist, Disinger, Frisell, Neal, Elrod, Duran

Heat 2: Klassmeyer, Schurr, Olson, Slusarski, Rabenhorst, Cochran, Schnur

Heat 3: Fick, Huisman, Samper, Cech, Berger, Steeley, Sargent
Heat 4: Duran, Frisell, Prohaska, Elrod, Neal, Sundquist, Disinger
Heat 5: Slusarski, Klaasmeyer, Olson, Schnur, Cochran, Schurr, Rabenhorst

Heat 6: Huisman, Fick, Cech, Sampier, Berger, Steeley, Sargent


Wingless Micro Sprints

Feature: Skylar Prohaska, Shane Fick, Tucker Klaasmeyer, Tim Neal, Wade Huisman, Shane Sundquist, Danny Williams, Jim Paisley, Keith Sheffer, Russell Disinger, Randy Steeley, Ryan Schurr, Chris Cochran, Alec Frisell

Heat 1: Sundquist, Steeley, Williams, Schurr, Sheffer, Cochran, Frisell

Heat 2: Disinger, Prohaska, Huisman, Fick, Klaasmeyer, Paisley, Neal
Heat 3: Williams, Sheffer, Sundquist, Frisell, Schurr, Steeley, Cochran
Heat 4: Neal, Klaasmeyer, Fick, Prohaska, Paisley, Huisman, Disinger


600 Modifieds

Feature: Wade Brandt, Jason Christianson, Ryan Hensel, Matt Schliesman, Ben Sprung, Buzz Pool, Aaron Fullerton, Brandon Nelson, Tim Nelson, Dave Finstad, Mark Motl

Heat 1: Hensel, Brandt, B. Nelson, T. Nelson, Finstad

Heat 2: Pool, Christianson, Schliesman, Sprung, Fullerton, Motl
Heat 3: Brandt, B. Nelson, Hensel, Finstad, T. Nelson
Heat 4: Schliesman, Christianson, Sprung, Pool, Fullerton, Motl