skip navigation

Jones, Mass, Vandekamp & Hammond Hustle To Victory At Masters Night #1

By Jamie Nutzmann, 06/15/13, 9:00AM CDT


Jones, Mass, Vandekamp & Hammond Hustle To Victory At Masters Night #1
New Richmond, WI (6-13-13)
By: Greg Parent
Fantastic spring weather finally graced the Cedar Lake Speedway, as the opening night of the 15th Annual Masters kicked off with racing in four of the weekly NASCAR divisions on Thursday night June 13.  Andy Jones drove to a convincing win in topping a talented field of modifieds.  Dave Mass made a somewhat rare appearance in recent years at CLS and picked up the win in the pro stocks.  Jason Vandekamp made it two straight in the Midwest mods while Barrett Hammond did likewise in the hornets.
As is usually the case, the NASCAR Hornet feature was first up.  Barrett Hammond drove by early leader Brent Voeltz to earn his second win in a row.  Steve Johnson, Jerry Hanson, Matt Dibb and Chris Dyke completed the top five in the nonstop 12 lap main event.  Voeltz and Hammond topped the heats.

With 30 NASCAR Midwest Modifieds on hand, a full 24 car starting grid lined up for their 20 lap feature race with Dean Grube and May 25 winner Mark Froehlich on the front row.  It was third starter Jason Vandekamp grabbing the early lead over Froehlich.  The race was under caution for the first time with seven laps in when rookie Cody Borgeson spun in turn 4.  Vandekamp continued to lead, but Froehlich stayed close.  An accident at the halfway mark in turn 4 involved four cars.  Grube ended up rolling over with Miranda Carlson, Ton Schill and Shawn Carlson also involved.  Schill made hard contact and needed to be cut out of his car and placed on a back board for transport to the hospital.  Schill was complaining of numbness in his fingers and toes.  No further report on his condition was available immediately following the races.

On the restart, Vandekamp kept Froehlich behind him.  The final caution flew with 13 laps scored when Jordan Hessler spun in turn 4.  Once again Vandekamp was able to hold off Froehlich, as he eventually put some distance between himself and the second place car.  Vandekamp also made it two straight feature wins at CLS.  Froehlich, current point leader Vince Corbin, David Swearingen and Bob Smith completed the top five.  Rounding out the top ten finishers were Robbie Franklin, A. J. Roschen, Jason Schill, B Main winner Shane Berndt, and Jason Haugerud.  Heat race winners included Vandekamp, Miranda Carlson with her first heat win, and Corbin.  Berndt also got his first midwest mod win in the B Main.
Sixteen of the seventeen cars on hand lined up for the 20 lap NASCAR Pro Stock feature.  Ben Hanke and Cody Campeau comprised the front row.  Hanke led the opening lap, but Campeau got by the next time around to capture the lead.  The first of seven cautions slowed the pace with three laps in.  Campeau continued to lead over Dave Mass, but Mass made what would be the winning pass on lap 6 following a restart for a rare Rich Bishop spin.  At the halfway point while under the third caution, Campeau dropped out.  Mass was leading three time winner Mike Loomis at this point with Hanke, Mike Hesselink and Lyle Archambeau close behind.  A good battle took place right behind Mass over the course of the next several laps despite four more cautions.
As Bishop charged back up through the field, Hanke and Loomis swapped the runner-up position a couple of times.  While running third Hanke looped his car in turn 2 with 16 laps scored.  With two more spins on lap 17, the race finally finished the final three circuits under green with Mass the master up front.  Kelly Anderson got going during the last half of the race to put the pressure on Mass late.  Anderson had to settle for second.  Hesselink, Loomis and Bishop completed the top five.  In sixth through tenth were Archambeau, Ryan Wiome, Brian Lick, Larry Fitzsimmons and Denny Schouveller.  Hanke and Mass won the heats.
To wind up the evening, the NASCAR Modifieds rumbled trackside with a very talented field on hand for 20 racing laps around the high-banked 3/8 mile oval.  Andy Jones and Darrell Nelson sat on the front row.  After the first start was called back, Nelson grabbed the lead from Jones on the second attempt.  Adam Ayotte however stalled on the back stretch, so a third try was in order.  This time Jones jumped out into the lead, a lead he would never relinquish over the course of 20 laps green to checkers.  Jones slowly pulled away a bit from Nelson.  Current point leader Nelson ran a solid second.  Brandon Jensen, Trent Follmer in his first appearance of the season, and Shaun Kelley completed the top five.  Rounding out the top ten finishers were Jason Gross, Scott Spilttstoesser from 13th, Jason Miller, Doug Gustafson, and five-time track champion Dave Cain in his first appearance of the season.
The second night of the 15th Annual Masters continues on Friday June 14 and then concludes on Saturday June 15 with a full program each night of UMP Summernationals late model racing action along with the powerful mods from the USMTS Modified Touring Series.  Catch all the exciting racing action at the Cedar Lake Speedway during the 15th Annual Masters event.  For more information, please check the CLS website at or follow us on Facebook.
RACE SUMMARY June 13, 2013 (Masters Night 1):
NASCAR Modified Feature (20 laps): Andy Jones, Darrell Nelson, Brandon Jensen, Trent Follmer, Shaun Kelley, Jason Gross, Scott Splittstoesser, Jason Miller, Doug Gustafson, Dave Cain, Jake Miller, Jeffrey Lien Jr, Cory Williams, Ted Marrs, Adam Ayotte.
NASCAR Pro Stock Feature (20 laps): Dave Mass, Kelly Anderson, Mike Hesselink, Mike Loomis, Rich Bishop, Lyle Archambeau, Ryan Wiome, Brian Lick, Larry Fitzsimmons, Denny Schouveller, Jeff Heintz, Marcus Simonson, Ben Hanke, Adam Ayotte, Cody Campeau, Bruce Schouveller, Tom Gebauer DNS.
NASCAR Midwest Modified Feature (20 laps): Jason Vandekamp, Mak Froehlich, Vince Corbin, David Swearingen, Bob Smith, Robbie Franklin, A. J. Roschen, Jason Schill, Shane Berndt, Jason Haugerud, Douglas Toepper, Mike Spraguer, Jacob Toepper, Elizabeth Toepper, Jared Gorka, Ron Jablonske, Cody Borgeson, Jordan Hessler, Miranda Carlson, Tony Schill, Shawn Carlson, Dean Grube, Chase Friendt, Ryan Hensel.
NASCAR Hornet Feature (12 laps): Barrett Hammond, Steve Johnson, Jerry Hanson, Matt Dibb, Chris Dyke, Dan Rick, Derrick Johnson, Natalie Rogers, Kayla Lallier, Brent Voeltz