skip navigation

Cedar Lake Speedway Kicks Off 56th Season

By Jamie Nutzmann, 04/27/14, 10:30AM CDT


Cedar Lake Speedway Kicks Off 56th Season
(Hensel, Schott, Mass, Estey & Hanestad Opening Night Winners)
New Richmond, WI (4-26-14)
By: Greg Parent

Despite less than favorable weather conditions, the Cedar Lake Speedway was able to hold their 56th season opener on April 26.  The weather had nixed several attempts to hold the traditional double-header opening weekend in April, but a small window of opportunity presented itself on the final Saturday.  Excessive rain on Thursday prevented racing on Friday night, so the opener was reduced to one night.  With a chilly east wind and rain approaching from the west, track officials hurried the program along.  Opening night feature winners at the NASCAR sanctioned track included Adam Hensel in the late models, Lucas Schott in the modifieds, Dave Mass in the pro stocks, and Skeeter Estey in the Midwest mods.  Buddy Hanestad won the hornet feature.

Following a quick run through ten heat races with only a total of five cautions slowing the pace, the NASCAR Midwest Modified feature was up first.  Wasting little time from his pole starting spot, defending track champion Jason Vandekamp jumped out to an early lead in the 20 lap feature.  Four cautions in the first six laps set up a green flag run to the finish over the final 14 circuits.  Fifth starter Skeeter Estey from Kelly Lake, MN was on the move forward and began applying pressure on Vandekamp for the top spot following the final caution.  At the halfway mark, Estey was able to overtake Vandekamp.  Although Vandekamp stayed close, Estey went on to record his first opening night feature win.  Vandekamp finished second ahead of Mitch Weiss, Tony Schill and Kyle Matuska.

The 20 lap NASCAR Pro Stock feature saw Chris Wark lead the opening lap from his outside row one starting spot, but by the end of the second lap it was Princeton, MN racer Dave Mass in front from his fifth starting spot.  Mass was not seriously challenged during the final 18 tours around the 3/8 mile high-banked dirt oval en route to his opening night victory.  Ben Hanke came from 8th to finish second ahead of Wark, Ryan Wiome and Dale Gangl in a race slowed only three times under caution.

With 18 Hornets on hand, their feature race was scheduled for 15 laps.  The race went nonstop from start to finish, and outside front row starter Buddy Hanestad of Boyceville led all 15 laps to pick up the opening night win.  William Voeltz, Blake Dorweiler, Brian Adams and Jared Zimpel completed the top five.

As in two earlier features, the fifth starting position proved once again to be a very good spot to start from.  In the NASCAR Modified 20 lap feature race, Jason Gross blasted into the early lead with 2012 modified track champion Brent Larson in tow.  Fifth starter Lucas Schott of Chatfield, MN slowly progressed forward in a race that would go the entire distance caution-free.  Schott got by Larson for second on lap 11 and set his sights on Gross up front.  Schott closed the margin in the next couple of laps and the battle for the lead was on.  Racing side-by-side on several occasions over the next few laps, Schott was finally able to duck underneath Gross exiting turn two on lap 18 for the top spot and eventual win.  Gross, an opening night winner back in 2011, settled for second in front of Clayton Wagamon, Larson and Joey Jensen who swept the 2012 opening weekend in this competitive division.
The rumble of the NASCAR Late Models filled the cool evening air for the final race of the night.  Opening night winner in 2012 and 2010 track champion Chad Mahder moved to the early lead from his pole starting position with Adam Hensel in second.  Hensel was driving a brand new car for Gregg Hill.  Mahder led the first 11 laps, but Hensel hustled to the lead on lap 12 and the Baldwin racer never looked back.  Three cautions in the final 9 laps slowed the pace in the 25 lap main event, but Hensel was too strong up front.  Mahder ran a solid second ahead of defending and four-time NASCAR late model track champion Brent Larson.  A couple of veteran drivers finished fourth and fifth with Steve Laursen in front of Lance Matthees.  Zach Wohlers overcame a lap 22 spin to place sixth while Dusty Peterson, Lucas Peterson, former super stock racer Joel Collins, and Ben Hanke, doing double duty in both the pro stocks and late models, rounded out the top ten.
Racing action continues next Saturday May 2 at the Cedar Lake Speedway, as the UMSS winged sprint cars will be on the program for the first of three scheduled appearances in 2014.  Weekly NASCAR divisions also racing will be the late models, modifieds, pro stocks and hornets.  Check out our website at to get information on upcoming races, results, photos, news and much more.  You can call us toll free at 1-866-4-CLS-FUN or find us on Facebook.

RACE SUMMARY for April 26, 2014 (56th Season Opener)

NASCAR Late Model Feature (25 laps): Adam Hensel, Chad Mahder, Brent Larson, Steve Laursen, Lance Matthees, Zach Wolhers, Dusty Peterson, Lucas Peterson, Joel Collins, Ben Hanke, Nick Herrick, Gregg Hill, Lyle Archambeau.

NASCAR Modified Feature (20 laps): Lucas Schott, Jason Gross, Clayton Wagamon, Brent Larson, Joey Jensen, Josh Angst, Donnie Lofdahl, Jake Miller, Adam Ayotte, Andy Jones, Cory Williams, Jake Timm.

NASCAR Pro Stock Feature (20 laps): Dave Mass, Ben Hanke, Chris Wark, Ryan Wiome, Dale Gangl, Cody Campeau, Larry Fitzsimmons, Adam Ayotte, Marcus Simonson, Dustin Sanders, Ryan Gangl, Mike Loomis, Matthew Dibb, Jeff Heintz, Denny Schouveller.

NASCAR Midwest Modified Feature (20 laps): Skeeter Estey, Jason Vandekamp, Mitch Weiss, Tony Schill, Kyle Matuska, Chad Foquette, Shane Berndt, Adam Martinson, Dean Grube, Mack Estey, Douglas Toepper, Mitch Anderson.

NASCAR Hornet Feature (15 laps): Buddy Hanestad, William Voeltz, Blake Dorweiler, Brian Adams, Jared Zimpel, Dannie Burkholder, Tyler Karg, Brady Boigenzahn, Kayla Lallier, Tyler Heckel, Bob Carver Jr, Darrell Johnson, Natalie Rogers, Derek Reding, Dan Knish, Derrick Johnson, Tim Thoennes, Charles Eckl.