skip navigation

Jason Schill Scores Midwest Mod Win at CLS WoO Show!

By Jamie Nutzmann, 07/01/14, 12:15PM CDT


~~New Richmond, WI
By: Greg Parent (6-29-14)

The annual appearance by the World of Outlaws sprint cars once again drew a large crowd at the Cedar Lake Speedway on a fantastic summer evening.  The NASCAR Midwest Modifieds were on the program as the support division.  A large field of 38 Midwest mods signed into the pits.  When the final checkers waved on their time-shortened 15 lap feature race, Jason Schill added another division to his CLS win list.  Donny Schatz raced to a very popular victory in the 35 lap World of Outlaws feature race which marked his eighth career CLS sprint car feature win including both WoO and 360 sprints from his early racing days back in the 1990s at the 3/8 mile high-banked western Wisconsin dirt oval.

Following four heats, which were won by Josh Bazey, Mitch Weiss, Jason Hall and Jason Schill, David Swearingen won the B Main.  The front row starters for the scheduled 20 lap NASCAR Midwest Modified main event were Bazey and Kyle Matuska.  The race ended up being shortened to 15 laps due to the time limit, as six cautions flew for various incidents.  Bazey led the first five laps before Schill took over up front.  While battling for third through fifth on lap 13, Bazey, Jason Vandekamp and Jason Hall found themselves third wide down the back stretch.  Contact amongst all three cars resulted in Bazey and Vandekamp dropping out while Hall only lasted one lap following the final restart.  Vandekamp had changed a tire on the opening lap caution, and he had moved forward all the way from last into the top five at the time.  Schill held off Matuska over the final three laps for the victory.  Ryan Olson, James Giossi, and Erik Kanz completed the top five.  Rounding out the top ten was Owen Grube, David Swearingen from 21st, Ryan Konkel, A.J. Roschen, and Cody Borgeson from 23rd.  Seventeen of the original 24 starters were still running at the end despite the problems that plagued this race.

Racing next Saturday at the Cedar Lake Speedway is highlighted by the 6th Annual Night of Destruction featuring Monster Trucks and several other crazy stunts.  The NASCAR Midwest Modifieds and Pro Stocks are also on the program.  Racing and other entertaining action is slated to get underway at 6:00 PM on July 5th.

Feature Race Summary - June 29, 2014:

NASCAR Midwest Modified Feature (15 laps): Jason Schill, Kyle Matuska, Ryan Olson, James Giossi, Erik Kanz, Owen Grube, David Swearingen, Ryan Konkel, A.J. Roschen, Cody Borgeson, Antonio Pintaro, Keith Palsure, Mitch Weiss, Elizabeth Topper, Cory Bruggeman, Douglas Toepper, Jeffrey Lien Jr, Jason Hall, Josh Bazey, Jason Vandekamp, Mike Rukamp, Jacob Toepper, Shawn Phillips, Shawn Carlson.