skip navigation

Season Championship Night brings great racing and free corn on the cob! Thanks everyone for your support!

By CLS, 08/26/14, 4:15PM CDT


A muggy, overcast evening brought about the final night of the weekly racing season. On August 23, the Cedar Lake Speedway held the Elmer & Lorraine Cook Memorial Season Championship to crown the 2014 NASCAR track point champions. Earning track point titles in the five weekly NASCAR sanctioned divisions were Chad Mahder-Late Models, Jason Gross-Modifieds, Mike Loomis-Pro Stocks, Jason Vandekamp-Midwest Mods, and Buddy Hanestad-Hornets. Feature winners at the Elmer & Lorraine Cook Memorial Season Championship night included Darrell Nelson in the NASCAR Late Models, Jason Gross in the NASCAR Modifieds, Tim Borgeson in the NASCAR Pro Stocks, Jason Hall in the NASCAR Midwest Mods, and keeping his undefeated streak intact for the season, Buddy Hanestad won for the eleventh time in the NASCAR Hornets.

As usual on a regular race night at the Cedar Lake Speedway, the NASCAR Midwest Modifieds are the first division on the track for their 20 lap feature race. On Season Championship night, a field of 27 cars was on hand with 26 of them able to start the feature. In a marathon race that saw six cautions wave and took 35 minutes to complete, Jason Hall held off Jason Vandekamp for the win. Hall led the first five laps, lost the lead for one lap to Josh Bazey, and then regained the lead for the remainder of the race. The race was under caution three times in the first four laps, and then had a stretch of 13 green flag laps before getting stuck on lap 17 for three more cautions. Attrition was high, as only eleven cars finished. Completing the top five were Mitch Weiss, Tony Schill and A.J. Roschen. Vandekamp's second place finish was more than adequate to earn him his second consecutive and third overall track point championship in the division.

Tim Borgeson and Rich Bishop brought the sixteen car starting field to the green for the 20 lap NASCAR Pro Stock feature. Borgeson, a two-time track champion in the division, immediately blasted to the early lead. The race was slowed four times under caution, but Borgeson was up to the challenge each time to earn his first win of the season. Mike Loomis raced forward from sixth to finish second and pick up his second consecutive track point championship in the process. Bishop slipped back to fifth but charged forward to finish third. Another two-time track champion, Mike Weber, rode home in fourth. Ben Hanke and Adam Ayotte crossed the line in a near photo finish for fifth with Hanke getting the nod.

The 12 lap NASCAR Hornet feature ran nonstop to the checkers and there was no stopping Buddy Hanestad from completing a first-ever feat at the Cedar Lake Speedway. Hanestad went undefeated in feature race action during the entire season, as he raced to his 11th win. In the history of the track, there has never been a driver who has won every feature race during the course of the regular season in any weekly division until Buddy Hanestad. Hanestad took the lead on lap four from Derrick Johnson and parked his #71 hornet in Victory Lane once again. Johnson held off William Voeltz for second. Don Martens and Patrick Kelly completed the top five. Hanestad easily earned the track point title.

Another nonstop feature race saw the mighty NASCAR Modifieds rumble off 20 laps with three different leaders. Adam Ayotte led the first 6 laps before Scott Duvall took his turn up front. At the halfway mark, Jason Gross powered by Duvall for the lead and eventual win to solidify his first track point championship. Duvall held off Adam Hensel in a very good battle for the runner-up spot. Joey Jensen and Darrell Nelson completed the top five. Brandon Jensen, Kelly Anderson, Ayotte, Jordan Hessler and Scott Splittstoesser rounded out the top ten finishers in a race the took just seven minutes to complete.

The final regular season race would see 20 NASCAR Late Model models lined up for their 30 lap feature. As the field thundered into turn one, Darrell Nelson grabbed the early lead over Steve Laursen. A good battle ensued behind Nelson with Eric Breeschoten eventually working his way to second. Breeschoten slowly closed in on Nelson, as the laps clicked by under green flag racing. With 22 laps scored, the lone caution blinked on when Adam Hensel and Steve Laursen made contact entering turn one. Hensel spun around and drove his car to the pits rather than tag the tail. On the restart, John Kaanta moved into second and began to pursue Nelson. Nelson was too strong up front though. Kaanta, Breeschoten, 2007-2008 and defending track champion Brent Larson, and Steve Laursen completed the top five. Chad Mahder drove from 16th to finish sixth and lock up his second track point championship, having won the title back in 2010 as well. 2011 track champion Rick Hanestad, Jeff Keeney, Greg Nippoldt from 18th, and Mike Nutzmann rounded out the top ten.

After taking the Labor Day Weekend off, the Cedar Lake Speedway is back in action on Saturday September 6 when they host the 14th Annual Jerry Richert, Sr. Memorial featuring the IRA Outlaw 410 winged sprints along with the UMSS 360 winged sprints plus the Northern Vintage Stockcar Racers. The Richert Memorial is always one of the premier sprint car racing events held each season and should see a strong field of cars in both divisions. The Legendary 100 follows on September 11-13 with a practice night slated for Wednesday September 10. Details for the Legendary 100 will be released soon. Check out the CLS website at to get information on upcoming races, results, photos, news and much more. You can call us toll free at 1-866-4-CLS-FUN or make sure to become a friend of CLS on our Facebook page.

FEATURE RACE SUMMARY (August 23, 2014):
Elmer & Lorraine Cook Memorial Season Championship

NASCAR Late Model Feature (30 laps): Darrell Nelson, John Kaanta, Eric Breeschoten, Brent Larson, Steve Laursen, Chad Mahder, Rick Hanestad, Jeff Keeney, Greg Nippoldt, Mike Nutzmann, Jim Carlson, Joel Collins, T.J. Adams, Mike Bear, Bryan Wennen, Lyle Archambeau, Chad Halstrom, Adam Hensel, Jim Raboin, Randy Gullixson DNS.

NASCAR Modified Feature (20 laps): Jason Gross, Scott Duvall, Adam Hensel, Joey Jensen, Darrell Nelson, Brandon Jensen, Kelly Anderson, Adam Ayotte, Jordan Hessler, Scott Splittstoesser, Ted Marrs, Cory Williams, Jake Miller, Kyle Steffen, Chris Gorka, Cody Wolkowski, Ashley Anderson, Al Stettner, Jason Haugerud, Terry Hanson DNS.

NASCAR Pro Stock Feature (20 laps): Tim Borgeson, Mike Loomis, Rich Bishop, Mike Weber, Ben Hanke, Adam Ayotte, Jeff Heintz, Marcus Simonson, Bruce Schouveller, Eric Schultz, Dustin Sanders, Denny Schouveller, Cody Campeau, Mike Raboin, Ryan Wiome, Lucas Plank, Jason Oftedahl DNS.

NASCAR Midwest Modified Feature (20 laps): Jason Hall, Jason Vandekamp, Mitch Weiss, Tony Schill, A.J. Roschen, Cory Bruggeman, Owen Grube, Al Stettner, Jared Gorka, Matt Kelley, Samantha Yarusso, Josh Bazey, Jim Giossi, Johnny Emerson, Shawn Carlson, Jason Hobbs, Eric Gadach, Shane Berndt, Vince Corbin, Cody Borgeson, Joe Prusak, Chase Friendt, Miranda Carlson, Mason McEvers, Mitch Anderson, Douglas Toepper, Mike Rukamp DNS.

NASCAR Hornet Feature (12 laps): Buddy Hanestad, Derrick Johnson, William Voeltz, Don Martens, Patrick Kelly, Bill Feyereisen, Darrell Johnson, Tim Thoennes, David Hanson, Dave Kaufman, Darren Gamache, Natalie Rogers DNS.